Presenting the 2020 New Zealand Primary Healthcare Award winners

ACC patient safety award

Winner: 'Every Patient, Every time' - making you safer when you visit the GP/Pharmacy - Safety in Practice team - Auckland and Waitematā DHBs

Finalist: Health Navigator Te Waka Hauora through improving patient safety - Health Navigator Charitable Trust


Southern Cross Health Insurance primary and secondary integration award

Winner: True partnership in care: E-consultation - Institute of Innovation and Improvement (i3) at Waitematā DHB

Finalist: Prescribing of long term opioids: Clinical Pharmacists bring primary and secondary care together to uncover the real issues - Clinical Pharmacist Facilitators Team, Hawke's Bay DHB

Ministry of Health equity award

Winner: Skin and Soft Tissue Infections in the Pacific Population (HAPPY SKIN) - The Fono

Finalist: Making Independence Accessible to Blind and Low Vision New Zealanders - HabitGroup, Blind Low Vision NZ

Medispace good space award

Winner: Castlecliff Health

Finalist: Kelburn Northland Medical - Together under one roof

Research and education award

Winner: Osteoarthritis - reducing the disease burden - Longhurst Pharmacy, Riccarton & Longhurst Physio

Finalist: Rural Health Careers Promotion Programme - New Zealand Rural General Practice Network

Blue Star best supplier service, product or campaign

Winner: Sanofi Patient/GP Insulin Initiation Tool - Sanofi New Zealand, Atlantis Healthcare

Finalist: HPV Immunisation, High School Catch-up Programme - Seqirus (NZ) Ltd, Insight

Douglas Pharmaceuticals community or primary healthcare pharmacist

Winner: Leanne Te Karu - Pihanga Health, Papakura Marae Health Centre

Finalist: Penny Clark - NorthCare Medical Centre


Total Healthcare general practice 

Winner: Tongan Health Society

Finalist: Feilding Health Care

College of Nurses Aotearoa NZ nurse practitioner of the year

Winner: Jackie Clapperton - The Doctors - Te Whare Hāpara, Turanga Health at Te Karaka Medical Centre, St John and Hauora Tairāwhiti

Finalist: Karen Hoare - Greenstone Family Clinic, Massey University

GlaxoSmithKline practice/business manager of the year

Winner: Adrian Tucker - Ropata Medical Centre, Cosine Primary Care Network Trust

Finalist: Erin Thompson - Health Connections

Green Cross Health outstanding contribution to health

Winner: Linda Bryant

Finalist: Nikki Turner

Pharmaceutical Society innovation in service delivery award

Winner: High Tech Imaging (HTI) Client-Centric Design Initiative in Primary Care - ProCare, Mercy Radiology

Finalist: Early recognition of acute deterioration in Aged Residental Care (ARC) residents - Project ERAD - Western Bay of Plenty PHO

Highly Commended: Medwise Clinical Pharmacy Service

Spark Health excellence in information technology award

Winner: Conquering the Perfect Storm - Orchestrating a Magnificent Response to the Measles Outbreak in Auckland - Total Healthcare PHO, Tāmaki Health

Finalist: Clearhead - free, online mental health platform


Habit Group best mental health programme

Winner: Wellness Support - Counties Manukau DHB

Finalist: EBPHA Mental Health Programme - The Eastern Bay Primary Health Alliance (EBPHA)

Highly Commended: Wellness Support Team Tāmaki Health 



Best youth and senior health service award

Winner: Piki - Led by Tū Ora Compass Health

Finalist: Health Connections

BDO business achievement award

Winner: Creating Integrated Multicentre
Interdisciplinary Healthcare - The Southern Rehab Model

Finalist: KPT Medical Group - Karaka, Pōkeno & Takanini

Pharmacy Guild community pharmacy of the year

Winner: Longhurst Pharmacy

Finalist: Angelsea Pharmacy

ProPharma community pharmacy technician of the year

Winner: Samantha Burgess - Life Pharmacy Coastlands

Finalist: Alison Hayden - Pharmacy 547


Highly Commended: Arzhay Heslop - Huntly West Pharmacy


Medtech general practitioner of the year

Winner: John Elliot - Kumeu Village Medical Centre

Finalist: Glen Davies - Taupō Medical Centre

Highly Commended: Oliver A Samin - Royal Oak Medical Centre


Practice nurse of the year

Winner: Pauline Fitzgerald - Papakura Marae Health Centre

Finalist: Dianne Theobald - Newtown Union Health Service

Sanofi good sort award

Winner: Louise Shambrook - Taradale Medical Centre

Finalist: Mark Shirley - Southern Rehab

Highly Commended: Megan Cumming - West Coast PHO

ACC supreme award 

Winner: Adrian Tucker - Ropata Medical Centre, Cosine Primary Care Network Trust